top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma L. Bennett

Robin: Happy, Heavenly Messengers



Robin is a favourite bird across the world, known and adored by many. When I speak to children about their favourite birds, they will often name Robin. With their beautiful singing, friendly nature and happy ways, they can be spotted worldwide in so many places, from wild woodlands and open meadows to back gardens.


For me, Robins will always be representatives of loved ones in the Spirit world. I have heard many people say that when a Robin appears, they feel a loved one has sent them and feel them close to them. Personally, I always think of my Nans in Spirit but I couldn't tell you why, it's just a feeling. I have quite a few friends that say the same about their own grandmothers but I have had lots of people express different names and relatives and I think for this reason, these birds are always little messengers from our dearest to me.


Do you feel the same? If you have a Robin visit, maybe it's one of your own loved ones sending a little messenger to let you know that you are seen, held, helped and loved.


Robins are super friendly and I've seen many that will eat out of the palm of your hand. They are very people-orientated and appear to enjoy the company of humans and I feel they really bring energy of ease, playfulness and togetherness.


Robins of course have glorious singing voices - I love listening to the robins in our garden and they encourage us to sing the song that's in our heart. With that heavenly connection, it's almost like they know the song in our heart already and they adore it and they wish us to share it with world. They also encourage us to sing when we're happy, to not hide away our joy and good things, but to be bold in our happiness and let the world know.


Robins have quite a varied symbolism across the world and throughout the centuries.


Native Americans, who view all birds as messengers of the Spirit world, viewed Robins as being the heart of the home and connected to home, family and the heart. This is because they didn't fly too far away and remained close to hum


There's an interesting connection with Christianity and I believe Mother Teresa shared a story (which I haven't read myself but have just heard) in which a small bird sees Jesus suffering on the cross wearing his crown of thorns. The bird swoops in wanting to help and manages to remove one thorn but it doing so he pierces his breast - and that's how he became Robin with his red breast. Whilst it is a bit grim, the story is symbolic of us not passing by someone's suffering and trying to ease someone's pain where we can as an act of grace and compassion, even if it's just a small act, the equivalent of one thorn.


Across Europe, Robins and Wrens have been held in high esteem for a long time and they were both considered little angels, gifts from Heaven and people felt not to harm them for it would be like harming an angel. This is all quite lovely isn't it? I think people are similar today because everyone I meet, even people who aren't very nature-y, seem to have a special place in their hearts for Robins.


For me, Robins are symbolic of joy, playfulness and happiness and they are sent by the heavens from our loved ones and I feel that's a meaning I will carry with me forever!

Recent Posts

See All

© 2014- 2024 by Emma L. Bennett

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • TikTok
bottom of page